Join NATF in the fight against blood clots. Donate today. Make a donation

Board of Directors

Samuel Z. Goldhaber, MD
President, Founding Director
Samuel Z. Goldhaber, MD, Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, is the Interim Chief of  the division of Cardiovascular Medicine and Section Head of the Vascular Medicine Division at…
John Fanikos, RPh, MBA
Treasurer, Founding Director
John Fanikos, RPh, MBA, is Director of Pharmacy Business and Financial Services at Brigham and Women’s Hospital (BWH) in Boston, MA. He is also Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy Practice…
Jawed Fareed, PhD
Vice President, Founding Director
Jawed Fareed is a Professor of Pathology and Pharmacology and Director of the Hemostasis and Thrombosis Research Laboratories at Loyola University Medical Center, Chicago, IL. Dr. Fareed’s main research interest…
Gregory Piazza, MD, MS
Director, Chair of the Education Committee
Dr. Piazza is an Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School and staff physician in the Cardiovascular Medicine Division at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital (BWH). Dr. Piazza received his…
Christian Ruff, MD, MPH
Director, Chair of the Atrial Fibrillation Action Initiative
Christian T. Ruff, MD, MPH is currently an Associate Physician in the Cardiovascular Division at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, MA and an Assistant Professor of Medicine at Harvard…
Arthur A. Sasahara, MD
Founding Director, Emeritus
Dr. Sasahara served as Senior Physician, Cardiovascular Division, Department of Medicine, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, and Professor of Medicine, Emeritus, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts. Dr. Sasahara is currently Co-Director…
Jeanine M. Walenga is a Professor in the Departments of Thoracic-Cardiovascular Surgery, and Pathology, Stritch School of Medicine, Loyola University Chicago, Maywood, Illinois, USA, Co-Director of the Hemostasis and Thrombosis…


Kathryn Mikkelsen
Executive Director
Kathryn Mikkelsen is the Executive Director of the North American Thrombosis Forum (NATF) in Boston, MA. Prior to becoming the Executive Director of NATF, Kathryn was the Project Manager of…
Courtney Johnson
Associate Director
Courtney is the Associate Director for North American Thrombosis  Forum (NATF).  She is responsible for the day to day operations of the office.  Courtney graduated from Boston University’s Sargent School…
Molly Gately
Assistant Director, Content Development
Molly is the Assistant Director of Content Development for NATF. She is a passionate writer and storyteller, who enjoys using these skills to promote thrombosis awareness. Molly is responsible for…
Kelly Meredith
Special Projects Coordinator
Kelly is the Special Projects Coordinator for NATF. She is responsible for event management and marketing, as well as coordinating both online and in-person educational seminars and support groups. Kelly…


Committee list coming soon!

Join NATF in the fight against blood clots. Donate today.

Make a donation

Twitter Facebook YouTube